Sunflowers 

The sunflowers are all bent down
Like they are praying before the Mother God of light and love
I drive by them in my little green car
Zooming down the road at 70 miles an hour
And I wonder what their secret is?
I yearn to be so humble before God like that
I turned in my head look out the window
As if they will converse back with my thoughts (And they do)
If you keep flying past us, they say
You will never find out
Slow down, they beckon
Soak up a little soil and sunshine on this big open prairie
And find out

Sunflowers near Redfield, by Laura Beth Gatzke

Sunflowers near Redfield, by Laura Beth Gatzke

Leave a Reply

