Delilah Isn’t Coming Home

I have been inside this house before
Sitting on the kitchen counter, feet swinging to the floor
And I swear–
I’ve seen you around.
Maybe you just had a different name.
See how she moves– like smooth on the glass
She’s ice on the surface, you know it won’t last past a season or two
I can tell by your eyes, there isn’t much you can hide
From me.

Benjamin holds his cigars like he holds his cigarettes
He smokes like a chimney, drinks till he forgets
And Delilah isn’t coming home
And Delilah isn’t coming home.
You’re wasting your time.
Mary holds the guitar, but she doesn’t know how to play
She wants you to think that she does anyway
Because the strings and wood make her feel better
Without them, she’s just four letters.

See how she moves like smooth on the glass
She’s ice on the surface, you know it won’t last past a season or two
Where was I going before I met you?
I know I had somewhere to be.
I know I had someone to be.

Benjamin still smokes while Mary plays
And we haven’t seen Delilah in days

I should get out of this house, I should leave while the door’s still open
I should leave while you’re still broken.
This house is much too broken.

Leave a Reply

