Thoughts While In the Soup Kitchen

Seventy-Two Years old with his bike
Helmet on his head
He enters the room
And greets a line of
Familiar famished faces
Through the line he goes
Taking conversation and food
Same 5 ‘o clock routine everyday
He sits across from me at this table
I’m not hungry- I’m observing
The movements of these people here
What else do they have in common, I wonder
Besides an empty stomach?
Across from me the old man sets down his fork
Closes his eyes
Folds his hands
And he prays.
I look at my hands
Suddenly I know
I am overcome with emotion
He looks up and sees the lone tear
Escaping my eye
He smiles at me as he’s smiled at so many girls before me
Who now understand.

Leave a Reply

